Medical Care Advisory Committee

Minutes of May 16, 2024

Participants

Committee Members (via phone)

Michael Hales (Chair), Jennifer Marchant, Rachel Craig, Brian Monsen, Stephanie Burdick, Dr. Jennifer Brinton, Kim Dansie, Alan Ormsby, Cassidy Matthews, and Davis Moore.

Committee Members Absent

Joey Hanna, Carlos Flores, Melissa Presley, Lisa Heaton, Dr. Robert Baird, Calleen Kenney, Gina Tuttle, and Michael Jensen.

DHHS Staff (via phone)

Josip Ambrenac, Tracy Barkley, Laura Belgique, Pam Bennett (SUMH), Gina Boren, Nate Checketts, Jorge Fuentes, Eric Grant, Tonya Hales, Michael Keith, Yoon Kim-Butterfield, Trang Le, Jennifer Meyer-Smart, Samantha Moore, Chris Nguyen, Jared Schwartz, Michelle Smith, Jamie Sorenson, James Stamos, Nick Stephenson, Jennifer Strohecker, Greg Trollan, Kolbi Young, Sharon Steigerwalt, and Dorrie Reese

Guest (via phone)

Michael Allred (GOPB), Ciriac Alvarez, Haley Bennett, Heather Bihimer, Bryce Blackham, Kate Bradford, Jesse Buntjer, Phillip Burrell, Dave Clarke, Kevin Clarke, Malika Closson, LeeAnn Colgan, Payton Connors, Tim Cox, Wendy Delacruz, Mircea Divricean Rebecca Dutson, Jeannie Edens, Dustin Erekson, Julie Ewing, Sean Faherty, Jennie Feight, Tim Fortie, Russell Frandsen (LFA), Monica Frederick, Bobby Ginn, Erica Gradwell, Matt Hansen, Daryl Herrschaft, Sen. Judson Hill, Brent Hogue, Rick Huffaker, Matt Isom, James Jensen, Willie Kaplan, Julie Kland, Maryann Martindale, Jeffrey Meltzer, Sentari Minor, David Moody, Catherine Morrison, Tanya Nagahiro, Elise Napper (DGO, Mary Ann Nef, Braxton Nerdin, Anna Ott, Stuart Pappas, Dave Parke, Elizabeth Parry, Ashley Pecht, Marisa Perales, Amber Phillips, Emily Polichette, Kyle Prosen, Shervin Rahimpour, Jill Rifkin, Andrew Riggle, Brayden Robinson, Leigha Rodak, Shelley Rogne, Marisa Ryan, Emily Salisbury, Sarah Sasser, Jordan Schramm, Noelle Sechrest, Michelle Seramur, Logan Shupe, Scott Silberberg, Juliana Simonetti, Beau Sorenson, Stacy Stanford, Shannon Sturtevant, Ashley Svenson, Lorena Swanson, Stacey Swilling (State Dental Director), Payton Thomas, Sunny Todhunter, Jeff Trainer, Tula Tubes, Oreta Tupola, Nicole Vallieres, Kathy Walker, James Whipple, Emily Willis (GOPB), Audry Wood, Kaye Lynn Wootton (AG), and Melissa Zito.

Welcome:

Michael Hales welcomed everyone.

Approval of Minutes:

Rachel Craig made the motion to approve the April 18, 2024, MCAC minutes. Jennifer Marchant seconded that motion. The group unanimously agreed.

Nomination for Consumer Rep for Medicaid Recipients:

Michael Hales mentioned the board is taking nominations for Consumer Rep for Medicaid Recipients if anyone is interested, please send to Sharon Steigerwalt@utah.gov

1115 Waiver Amendment for Health Related Social Needs Public Comment Hearing:

Laura Belgique gave an update.

The document which was presented is embedded in this document. https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/HRSN Public Hearing Overview.pdf

FY2026 Budget Recommendations – Public Hearing:

If you would like to review a presentation, please reach out to Sharon Steigerwalt@utah.gov

The document which was presented is embedded in this document. https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/Public Hearing Presenters

Medical Management of Chronic Obesity & Budget Considerations:

Logan Poole, PharmD, Dave Moody, and Dr. Julianna Simonetti gave an update.

Medicaid Waiver Reimbursement:

Emily Polichetti and Emily Salisbury gave an update.

Lactation Consulting Services:

Haley Bennett gave an update.

> PACE:

Tim Cox gave an update.

Rate Parody within the DSPD Community Supports Waiver:

James Whipple gave an update.

Neurosurgical Application of Laser Interstitial Thermal Therapy:

Shervin Rahimpour, MD gave an update.

Therapeutic Footwear: Focusing on Diabetic:

Kevin Clake and Guido Van den Bos gave an update.

Freespira treatment for panic disorder & post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD):

Monica Frederick, and Malika D. Closson, M.D gave an update.

Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Service Reimbursement Increases:

Julie Hadlock, and Rebecca Dutson gave an update.

New Choices Waiver Increase:

Dave Clarke, Bobby Ginn, and Bryce Blackburn gave an update.

> Bone Growth Stimulators:

Willie Kaplan, and Tom Fortie gave an update.

Prenatal Testing:

Jeffrey Meltzer, M.D., and Amber Mathiesen Phillips gave an update.

Camp K Services:

Mircea Divricean gave an update.

> Home Health Rates:

Beau Sorenson, and Matt Hansen gave an update.

Private Duty Nursing Requests:

Catherine Morrison, and Braxton Nerdin gave an update.

HCBS Waiver Rates:

Dave Parke, Cathey Garber, and Matt Hansen gave an update.

Expanding Access for Skin Substitutes:

Jeff Trainer, Sen. Judson Hill, and Jennie Feight gave an update.

Mental Health System & Medicaid and Developmental Disabilities System & Medicaid:

Andrew Riggle gave an update.

> Tula System:

Marisa Perales, Megan Guelker, Dr. Marisa Ryan, and Dr. Jordan Schramm gave an update.

Community Health Workers Reimbursement:

Oreta Tupola gave an update.

> EPAS Case Management Rates:

Mary Ann Nef gave an update.

Peer Support Services Rate Increase:

Brayden Robinson gave an update.

➤ Psychiatric Collaborative Care (CoCM) Services:

Sentari Minor gave an update.

➤ Mobile Radiology Services:

Rick Huffaker gave an update.

SPA's Rules:

The documents which were presented are embedded in this document.

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/SPA Summary

https://medicaid.utah.gov/Documents/Rule Summary

Adjourn:

Jennifer Brinton made the motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 6:24 pm. The next meeting is scheduled for June 20, 2024, at 2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.